Utah DUI Defense Attorneys
Charges for DUI (driving while intoxicated) or sometimes called DWI (driving while intoxicated) are serious. Under Utah law, if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is over 0.08%, you are Driving Under the Influence. First and second DUI offenses are charged as Class B Misdemeanors. Subsequent DUIs are charged as felonies. If you have been charged with DUI you need an experienced defense attorney who understands the intricacies of this charge, the common mistakes of law enforcement, and how to challenge the prosecution’s case.
What are the Punishments for DUI in Utah?
Upon conviction, the court must sentence first time DUI offenders to:
- 48 hours in jail, 48 hours of community service, or home confinement with an ankle monitor;
- a fine of not less than $1295;
- a PRIME for life class; and
- a mandatory ignition interlock for 18 months (interlock prevents your car from starting until your breath is free from alcohol)
Those are the minimum sentence. On a first DUI conviction, you can be sentenced to as much as 6 months in jail and a $1850 fine. Don’t let that happen to you! Get the help you need to understand your options.
Utah criminal defense attorneys at Capstone Law can help you understand your options and provide a vigorous defense to the prosecution’s case. Schedule a free confidential DUI defense consultation with one of our Utah criminal defense attorneys today.
Our Utah Consumer Law Practice Areas
Areas We Serve
Tempe, AZ 85283
179 North 1200 East
Lehi, Utah 84043
Salt Lake Office
8823 South Redwood Rd.
West Jordan, Utah 84088